Reintegrate branch auto-creates commit summary message

Just a small SVN tip to close the year. Did you know, that if you have a feature branch and you reintegrate it into the trunk, TortoiseSVN makes a nice summary of the revision comments of the branch and puts it under your Recent comments button in the Commit dialog?

Here’s the procedure:

  • Go to the trunk, reintegrate the desired branch.
  • Open the project / solution in the trunk in your IDE, and rebuild and test if everything works as expected.
  • Commit the trunk, click Recent messages.
  • Even though you did not type anything, there’s a ready-to-use message, starting with “Merged revision(s) aaa-bbb …” etc. Double click it.
Ready to use commit message. I did not type that. (Yeah, well, I did, but only the first time when committing to the branch.)

Ready to use commit message. I did not type that. (Yeah, well, I did, but only the first time when committing to the branch.)

  • Click OK.

Happy holidays everyone!

Advertenties